Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Reps. Chu, Coble Announce Membership of New Creative Rights Caucus

March 19, 2013
Press Release


Washington, DC – Today, Representatives Judy Chu (CA-27) and Howard Coble (NC-06), Co-Chairs of the newly formed Congressional Creative Rights Caucus (CRC), announced 29 members have joined their new effort to safeguard creative and intellectual property. The bipartisan caucus includes Members from 12 states, spanning both ends of the political spectrum. 
Congresswoman Judy Chu (CA-27), CRC Co-Chair: “I’m thrilled about the expansive and bipartisan support the Creative Rights Caucus has received in the short time since we formed it. At a time when gridlock pervades in Washington, it’s clear that protecting creative rights is something Members of all political persuasions find common cause in. I thank all of the Congressional leaders who have joined Congressman Coble and me in fighting to protect and foster creative industries all across our country.”
Congressman Howard Coble (NC-06), CRC Co-Chair: “We started the Creative Rights Caucus to give a voice to the creative community in America. Just a few weeks later, that voice has grown dramatically, and includes Members as diverse as the creative industries that this Caucus will protect. I look forward to working with all of the Members of the CRC to ensure our country has an environment that fosters and protects creative talent, now and in the future.”
Congresswoman Marsha Blackburn (TN-07): “Our country leads the world in creativity and innovation. Defending citizens’ constitutional right to private property has always been one of my primary focuses. Tennessee’s 7th Congressional District is home to some of the most innovative and talented creators in the world and I look forward to working with my colleagues on the Creative Rights Caucus to ensure their concerns about protecting intellectual property are heard in Congress.”
Congressman John Conyers (MI-13): “I am honored to join the Congressional Creative Rights Caucus. I have been a longtime defender of artists and strong intellectual property protections. I am looking forward to continuing this work in the upcoming Congress alongside my colleagues in the Creative Rights Caucus.”
Congressman Adam Schiff (CA-28): “The creative sector – film, music, video games, software, publishing and others – are some of the most dynamic and competitive American industries globally, creating high quality jobs for millions of Americans. Yet the rights of creators and artists to profit from their investments are under constant attack through high levels of piracy and counterfeiting. As someone who has long championed efforts to crack down on piracy, I welcome the chance to work with members of the Creative Rights Caucus to raise awareness of the importance of intellectual property protection to our economic growth.”
Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23): “I am so pleased to join my colleagues in supporting the contributions of the creative community, as well as the livelihoods of everyone who makes this work possible. Intellectual property theft is a huge drain on our economy, and creative work deserves strong intellectual property protection so that we can continue to spur innovation and grow our economy, in the United States and around the world.”
Congressman Henry Waxman (CA-33):  “I’m proud to join Congresswoman Chu and Congressman Coble in protecting the important work of our creative community, which supports jobs, drives innovation, and dominates in the international marketplace.  The caucus will help educate Congress and the public about the great contributions our creative artists make and how we can protect the value of their work.”
The Congressional Creative Rights Caucus will serve to educate Members of Congress and the general public about the importance of preserving and protecting the rights of the creative community in the U.S.  American creators of motion pictures, music, software, and other creative works rely on Congress to protect their copyrights, human rights, First Amendment rights, and property rights.  
The full list of Creative Rights Caucus Members follows:
Co-Chairs Congresswoman Judy Chu (CA-27) and Howard Coble (NC-06)
Congresswoman Karen Bass (CA-37)
Congressman Xavier Becerra (CA-34)
Congresswoman Marsha Blackburn (TN-07)
Congressman Tony Cardenas (CA-29)
Congressman John Conyers (MI-13)
Congressman Joe Crowley (NY-14)
Congressman Danny Davis (IL-07)
Congressman Ted Deutch (FL-21)
Congressman Louie Gohmert (TX-01)
Congressman Rush Holt (NJ-12)
Congressman Steve Israel (NY-03)
Congresswoman Sheila Jackson-Lee (TX-18)
Congressman Hank Johnson (GA-04)
Congresswoman Zoe Lofgren (CA-19)
Congressman Alan Lowenthal (CA-47)
Congresswoman Gloria Negrete McLeod (CA-35)
Congressman Jerry Nadler (NY-10)
Congresswoman Grace Napolitano (CA-32)
Congresswoman Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA-40)
Congressman Bobby Rush (IL-01)
Congressman Linda Sanchez (CA-38)
Congressman Loretta Sanchez (CA-46)
Congressman Adam Schiff (CA-28)
Congressman Adam Smith (WA-09)
Congressman Chris Van-Hollen (MD-08)
Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman-Schultz (FL-23)
Congresswoman Maxine Waters (CA-43)
Congressman Mel Watt (NC-12)
Congressman Henry Waxman (CA-33)