Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Rep. Chu Statement on Launch of Medicare for All Congressional Caucus

July 20, 2018
Press Release

Washington D.C. – On Thursday, Rep. Judy Chu (CA-27) helped to launch the Medicare for All Congressional Caucus as a founding member. Rep. Chu has cosponsored H.R. 676, the Expanded & Improved Medicare for All Act, in each Congress she has served. As an advocate for creating a universal health care system, Rep. Chu released the following statement:

“Healthcare is a human right. And like all rights, that means it applies to everyone, not just a few. But too many Americans are just one medical emergency away from financial ruin, and too many have to turn to fundraising efforts like GoFundMe to help afford the medical care they need. Nobody should go without healthcare because of their zip code or how much money they make. That is why I am proud to be a founding member of the Medicare for All Caucus. Medicare is providing quality and affordable healthcare. It’s time to build on and expand this system so that guaranteed healthcare becomes a reality for every person in the United States.”

The Medicare for All Congressional Caucus will aim to build support and evidence for Medicare for All. The Caucus will focus on sponsoring briefings on topics that range from financing a universal health care system to building a health care system that works for all Americans. The Caucus would also work with stakeholders and providers all over the country to facilitate discussions and gain an understanding for how a Medicare for All system would function.

The following Members have joined the Caucus, including Rep. Chu:

  • Representatives Pramila Jayapal, Keith Ellison, Debbie Dingell, Nanette Diaz Barragán, Joyce Beatty, Don Beyer, Earl Blumenauer, Brendan F. Boyle, Anthony Brown, Michael E. Capuano, Andre Carson, Kathy Castor, David Cicilline, Katherine M. Clark, Yvette D. Clarke, Wm. Lacy Clay, Steve Cohen, Mike Doyle, Eliot L. Engel, Adriano Espaillat, Dwight Evans, Lois Frankel, Marcia Fudge, John Garamendi, Jimmy Gomez, Vicente Gonzalez, Al Green, Raúl M. Grijalva, Alcee L. Hastings, Brian Higgins, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Jared Huffman, Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Ro Khanna, Brenda Lawrence, Barbara Lee, John Lewis, Ted Lieu, Zoe Lofgren, Alan Lowenthal, Carolyn B. Maloney, James (Jim) McGovern, Jerry McNerney, Grace Meng, Jerrold Nadler, Grace Napolitano, Richard M. Nolan, Chellie Pingree, Mark Pocan, Jared Polis, Jamie Raskin, Lucille Roybal-Allard, Tim Ryan, Jan Schakowsky, Robert "Bobby” Scott, Jose Serrano, Adam Smith, Darren Soto, Mark Takano, Dina Titus, Paul D. Tonko, Marc A. Veasey, Nydia M. Velázquez, Maxine Waters, Bonnie Watson Coleman, Peter Welch, Frederica Wilson, John Yarmuth