Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Rep. Chu Votes to Keep US in Paris Climate Agreement

May 2, 2019
Press Release

Washington, DC — On Thursday, the House of Representatives passed H.R 9, the Climate Action Now Act. This bill would prevent President Trump or future Presidents from withdrawing from the Paris Climate Agreement by prohibiting the use of federal funds to take action to remove the United States from the agreement. It would also require the President to submit an annual plan to Congress outlining the actions the country should take in order to meet our nationally determined contribution to global emissions reductions. The Paris Climate Agreement was negotiated in 2015 by representatives of 195 countries with the goal of using voluntary emissions reduction targets specialized for each country to keep global temperatures from rising more than 2 degrees Celsius over preindustrial levels. The agreement took effect on November 4, 2016. Under the terms of the agreement, no country can withdraw before November 4, 2020. Rep. Judy Chu (CA-27) voted for H.R. 9 and issued the following statement:

“Climate change is a crisis that demands our immediate action. Its effects are ongoing. And it will impact all of us eventually, whether through worse storms, bigger wildfires, less food and water, or conflicts over resources. The good news is, we still have the time and ability to halt the worst effects. That is what the Paris Climate Agreement achieved. This landmark agreement was the first ever to unite 195 countries around the common goal of protecting our planet from the worst impacts of our own actions. Under the Paris agreement, each country agreed to meet our own goals to keep global temperatures from rising more than 2 degrees Celsius. And despite Trump’s efforts, I am proud that my state of California is still leading the way. Investments in important technologies like renewable energy, clean cars, and green buildings mean that California is on track to drop our emissions to 80% of 1990 levels by 2050. Now, the federal government must follow.”